Home\Sections\Texas\Awards and Research Posters

Awards and Research Posters

Submissions for the 2024 Conference will open in early June!

WateReuse Texas recognizes water agencies, businesses, recycled water users, and individuals that demonstrate innovation and leadership in advancing the practice, science, adoption, or public acceptance of water recycling.

We also accept reuse-related research posters for display at the conference. Posters must be reuse-related, and prizes will be awarded for first and second place. Proposals can be from students or non-students; however, only the student posters are eligible for the competition.

Award and research poster details can be found below. Award winners and poster selections will be notified at least one month prior to the conference.

Awards and Poster Details

Ed Archuleta Award

The Archuleta Award was created in 2013 and recognizes water reuse leaders who have made outstanding contributions in the field of water reuse within the State of Texas. Qualified nominees should be individuals who have significantly contributed to the advancement of water reuse in Texas through exceptional service and leadership in the reuse community and/ or innovation in technology, efficiency, or management related to water reuse, and/or leadership in the advancement of research and education in the reuse and water resources fields.

Reuse Impact Award

The Reuse Impact Award recognizes individuals, projects, facilities, or organizations that have made significant contributions to increase water reuse in Texas over the past three years. Award recipients exhibit leadership in advancing education, advocacy, technology, and/or management of water resources, showcasing innovative approaches that others can follow to build resilient communities through water recycling.

WRTX Poster Submissions

Posters should be an eye-catching, visual representation of research relating to reuse technology, financing or financial related, or other research topics with a maximum size of 34” x 22”.
Poster presenters must register and pay for the conference but can use the student rate of $25 if they are currently a student at a WateReuse Texas member organization.
There are two Best Student Poster Awards available for the first and second place winners of the student poster contest – $1000 for first place and $500 for second place. This contest is judged at the conference by volunteers from the WRTX Research Committee.

Vandertulip Best Presentation Award

The Vandertulip Award was established in 2019 to honor long-time WateReuse Texas contributor William “Don” Vandertulip, who helped shape many past WRTX Conference Programs. Don was a founding member of WRTX and served on our board in various roles, most notably as President from 2008-2010. The Vandertulip Best Presentation Award is selected via online vote by conference attendees and announced after the conference.

Past Award Winners

Ed Archuleta Award (established in 2013):
Reuse Impact Award (established in 2023):
Vandertulip Presentation Award (established in 2019):
Student Poster Award:
  • 2023 First Place: Luis Silva, Whitacre College of Engineering, Texas Tech University
  • 2023 Second Place: Carlos Espindola, Ingram School of Engineering, Texas State University

Join WateReuse

WateReuse is the only trade association that focuses solely on advancing laws, policy and funding to increase water reuse. Our niche strategy sets us apart from other organizations in the water industry.

Join Today