Home\Engage\Awards and Recognition Programs

Awards and Recognition Programs

2024 WateReuse Awards for Excellence

The 2024 WateReuse Awards for Excellence, President’s Awards, and Service Awards were announced at the 2024 WateReuse Symposium, March 11-14 in Denver.

Annual WateReuse Awards for Excellence

The WateReuse Association’s annual Awards for Excellence recognize individuals and projects that have made significant contributions in support of greater adoption of water reuse. Award recipients exhibit leadership in advancing education, advocacy, technology, and/or management of water resources, showcasing innovative approaches that others can follow to build resilient communities through water recycling.

WateReuse solicits nominations for the annual awards in the fall. A panel of industry professional reviews and evaluates the submissions. The awards are presented at the Annual WateReuse Symposium, which occurs in early spring.


Utility of the Future Today Recognition Program

The Utility of the Future Today Recognition Program honors water resource recovery facilities for community engagement, watershed stewardship, and recovery of resources such as water, energy, and nutrients and to celebrate the achievements of forward-thinking, innovative water utilities that are providing resilient value-added service to communities. The recognition program component was launched in 2016 by the National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA), the Water Environment Federation (WEF), the Water Research Foundation (WRF) and the WateReuse Association (WateReuse), with input from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

Section Awards

WateReuse State Sections host awards programs to recognize work done in a specific state or region. Visit the state section web pages to learn more about local award programs.

Industrial Water Reuse Champion Award

The WateReuse Association, U.S. Chamber of Commerce, Veolia, and University of Pennsylvania Water Center present the Industrial Water Reuse Champions Award. The award recognizes top Fortune 1000 companies that incorporate the best-in-class water recycling and reuse programs to improve water stewardship and achieve their water management goals.

This award program was developed as part of the National Water Reuse Action Plan (WRAP), a multi-stakeholder effort lead by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to advance the science, policy, research, communications and more supporting water reuse and recycling.

Join WateReuse

WateReuse is the only trade association that focuses solely on advancing laws, policy and funding to increase water reuse. Our niche strategy sets us apart from other organizations in the water industry.

Join Today