Committees and Volunteer Opportunities

Are you ready to become more involved with the WateReuse Association and share your water reuse expertise? Join one of our committees to drive industry thought leadership on issues impacting your community or business, access best practices, and network with leaders focused on similar issues.

Committees are chaired by your peers, who are leaders in water recycling. All employees of WateReuse member organizations are eligible to participate. To learn more about a particular volunteer opportunity, please contact the staff member listed below.

Standing Committees

Industrial and Commercial Reuse Committee

  • Chair: Greta Zornes, CDM Smith
  • Vice Chair, Wayne Young, JEA
  • Staff Contact: Lydia Silber, Manager of Regulatory Policy and Technical Content

International Water Reuse Committee

  • Chair: Hossein Ashktorab, Valley Water
  • Vice Chair: Zoreh Movahed, Watek Engineering
  • Staff Contact: Monika Merk, Program Manager

Legislative and Regulatory Policy Committee

  • Chair: Jon Freedman, Veolia
  • Vice Chair: Sharon Green, Los Angeles County Sanitation Districts
  • Staff Contact: Greg Fogel, Policy Director

Onsite and Distributed Water Recycling Systems Committee

  • Chair: Paula Kehoe, San Francisco Public Utilities Commission
  • Vice-Chair, Bob Salvatelli, NextEra Distributed Water
  • Staff Contact: Monika Merk, Program Manager
  • View Factsheet

Water Reuse Research Committee

  • Co-Chair: Zeynep Erdal, Black & Veatch
  • Co-Chair: Christopher Wilson, Hampton Roads Sanitation District
  • Staff Contact: Lydia Silber, Manager of Regulatory Policy and Technical Content

Other Member Engagement Opportunities

  • Annual WateReuse Symposium Planning Committee: Member volunteers help plan the Symposium and local activities. Staff Contact: Zachary Dorsey, Director of Program Operations & Strategic Initiatives
  • Annual WateReuse Symposium Technical Program Committee: Member volunteers help score and select technical session presentations. Staff Contact: Monika Merk, Program Manager
  • Outreach & Education Advisory Group: Member volunteers guide the development of communications tools and resources. Staff Contact: Ben Glickstein, Director of Communications
  • National Blue Ribbon Commission (NBRC) for Onsite Non-potable Water Systems: WateReuse administers this coalition of public health agencies and water/wastewater utilities. Staff Contact: Monika Merk, Program Manager
  • Public Health & Medical Community Initiative: Member volunteers guide our initiative to build acceptance and support among medical and health professionals. Staff Contact: Monika Merk, Program Manager
  • State Sections and Local Chapters: Each WateReuse State Section has its own set of volunteer opportunities focused on unique local issues, including committees, event planning, and state advocacy. Contact the Section leadership to become involved.

Join WateReuse

WateReuse is the only trade association that focuses solely on advancing laws, policy and funding to increase water reuse. Our niche strategy sets us apart from other organizations in the water industry.

Join Today