Home\Press Releases\Nominations Open for Utility of the Future Today Recognition Program

Nominations Open for Utility of the Future Today Recognition Program

Date: April 03, 2017

The nomination period is open for the Utility of the Future Today Recognition Program, which returns for a second year to bring attention to water resource recovery facilities implementing the innovative Utility of the Future business model.

The program seeks to promote and recognize utilities that are building on a foundation of excellent management and help small, medium, and large utilities transform their operations over time.

The Utility of the Future activity areas focus on the key building blocks of this transformation:

  • recovery and new uses of a full range of resources;
  • engagement as a leader in the full water cycle and broader social, economic, and environmental sustainability of the community;
  • transformation of the internal utility culture in support of these innovations; and
  • engagement in the community and formation of partnerships necessary for success when operating outside of the traditional span of control of the utility.

Public and private water resource recovery facilities of all sizes are encouraged to apply by 5 p.m. EDT, June 9, 2017. Applicants must have no major permit violations in the past year prior to the submission date of their applications. Honorees will be notified by July 28 and formally recognized during an awards ceremony at WEFTEC 2017—WEF’s 90th annual technical exhibition and conference—this October in Chicago, IL.

Two informative webinars are scheduled for utilities wishing to learn more about the program and the application process. The webinars will provide an opportunity for participants to ask questions with Recognition Program partners. They are scheduled from 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. on April 12 and May 3.

Since the Utility of the Future concept was introduced in 2013, many utilities have successfully implemented new and creative programs to address local wastewater technical and community challenges. The recognition program was launched last year by four water sector organizations—the National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA), the Water Environment Federation (WEF), the Water Environment & Research Foundation (WE&RF) and WateReuse—with support from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The recognition program’s first 61 honorees were featured during WEFTEC 2016 in New Orleans, La.

To learn more, visit Utility of the Future website or send an email.

Back to News

Join WateReuse

WateReuse is the only trade association that focuses solely on advancing laws, policy and funding to increase water reuse. Our niche strategy sets us apart from other organizations in the water industry.

Join Today