

## **WATEREUSE TEXAS**

## "ED" ARCHULETA AWARD

WateReuse Texas (WRT) established this award in 2013 in honor of Edmund G. "Ed" Archuleta for his years of expertise in managing water resources. Ed's service and guidance at the El Paso Water Utilities (EPWU) propelled EPWU into the role of a respected industry leader in water conservation, water reuse and desalination. During his tenure with EPWU, Ed Archuleta spearheaded a number of leading water reuse programs which included reusing treated wastewater from four wastewater treatment plants for irrigation, industrial and commercial purposes, wetland restoration, and aquifer storage and recovery and the associated development of over 51 miles of pipe carrying 2.2 billion gallons of reclaimed water to customers throughout the city.

The purpose of the Ed Archuleta Award is to encourage and recognize water reuse leaders and those who have made outstanding contributions in the field of water reuse within the State of Texas. Qualified applicants should be individuals who have:

- Significantly contributed to the advancement of water reuse in Texas;
- Demonstrated exceptional service and leadership in the reuse community;
- Demonstrated innovation in technology, efficiency or management related to water reuse; and
- Demonstrated leadership in the advancement of research and education in the reuse and water resources fields.

## **General Criteria**

- 1. An individual nominee shall be a member of WRT or be employed at an organization that is a member.
- 2. The nomination should be presented as a one-page summary of how the nominee meets the criteria and should include:
  - a. a concise biography of the individual nominee; and
  - b. a detailed description of the nominee's accomplishments demonstrating significant contributions in the development and implementation of water reuse practices.
- 3. The nomination shall include at least two letters of recommendation.

One (1) electronic copy must reach the WRT Awards Committee by July 2, 2018. For consideration, nominations must fulfill all requirements. Omissions must be rectified within seven (7) days of notification. Submit nominations to:

WRT Ed Archuleta Awards Committee Chair Ed Archuleta, E-mail: <a href="mailto:egawater07@gmail.com">egawater07@gmail.com</a>; and Committee Vice Chair: Alan Plummer, E-mail: <a href="mailto:aplummer@apaienv.com">aplummer@apaienv.com</a>