Home\About Us\Research Advisory Committee

Research Advisory Committee

The Research Advisory Committee provides scientific guidance and sets the annual agenda for the Principle Research Program. The Committee is comprised of 25 to 32 individuals with a range of expertise and experience that represent the broad spectrum of the water reuse community, including water and wastewater utilities, engineering and consulting firms, manufacturers, suppliers, academia, industry, and federal and state regulatory agencies.


  • Mark W. LeChevallier, Ph.D., American Water, Chair
  • Phil Rolchigo, Pentair, Vice Chair
  • Gary Amy, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia
  • Nicholas J. Ashbolt, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Judy Blackbeard, Ph.D., Melbourne Water Corporation, Australia
  • Amy Childress, University of Southern California
  • Rick Cisterna, Hazen & Sawyer
  • Shahla Farahnak, California State Water Resources Control Board
  • Adam Festger, Trojan Technologies
  • Christopher Impellitteri, Ph.D., U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Chance Lauderdale, HDR Engineers, Inc.
  • Joan Oppenheimer, MWH
  • Yuliana E. Porras-Mendoza, Bureau of Reclamation
  • Keel Robinson, Xylem
  • Andrew Salveson, Carollo Engineers
  • Larry Schimmoller, CH2M HILL
  • Kellogg Schwab, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Ben Standford, Ph.D., Hazen and Sawyer
  • George Tchobanoglous, University of California – Davis
  • Patricia Tennyson, Katz & Associates
  • R. Shane Trussell, Ph.D., Trussell Technologies
  • Randall Watts, Merck
  • Michael Wehner, Orange County Water District
  • Jimmy Yu, Ph.D., PepsiCo

Join WateReuse

WateReuse is the only trade association that focuses solely on advancing laws, policy and funding to increase water reuse. Our niche strategy sets us apart from other organizations in the water industry.

Join Today