Home\About Us\Advisory Committees\Research Advisory Committee

Research Advisory Committee

The Research Advisory Committee provides scientific guidance and sets the annual agenda for the Principle Research Program. The Committee is comprised of 25 to 32 individuals with a range of expertise and experience that represent the broad spectrum of the water reuse community, including water and wastewater utilities, engineering and consulting firms, manufacturers, suppliers, academia, industry, and federal and state regulatory agencies.


  • Mark W. LeChevallier, Ph.D., American Water, Chair
  • Phil Rolchigo, Pentair, Vice Chair
  • Gary Amy, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia
  • Judy Blackbeard, Ph.D., Melbourne Water Corporation, Australia
  • Nicholas J. Ashbolt, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Robert Cheng, Ph.D., Metropolitan Water District of Southern California
  • Amy Childress, University of Southern California
  • Rick Cisterna, Hazen & Sawyer
  • Jorg Drewes, Ph.D., Colorado School of Mines
  • Shahla Farahnak, California State Water Resources Control Board
  • Adam Festger, Trojan Technologies
  • Christopher Impellitteri, Ph.D., U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Laura Kennedy, Kennedy/Jenks Consultants
  • Jim Larkin, Scientific Methods, Inc.
  • Chance Lauderdale, HDR Engineers, Inc.
  • Phil Lauri, Mesa Water
  • Joan Oppenheimer, MWH
  • Yuliana E. Porras-Mendoza, Bureau of Reclamation
  • Phillip Rolchigo, Ph.D., Pentair
  • Andrew Salveson, Carollo Engineers
  • Larry Schimmoller, CH2M HILL
  • Kellogg Schwab, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Harry Seah, Singapore Public Utilities Board
  • Shane Snyder, Ph.D., University of Arizona
  • Ben Standford, Ph.D., Hazen and Sawyer
  • George Tchobanoglous, University of California – Davis
  • Patricia Tennyson, Katz & Associates
  • Tim Thomure, HDR Engineering
  • R. Shane Trussell, Ph.D., Trussell
  • Nikolay Voutchkov, Water Globe Consulting
  • Catherine Walker, St. Johns River Water Management District
  • Randall Watts, Merck
  • Michael Wehner, Orange County Water District
  • Jimmy Yu, Ph.D., PepsiCo

Join WateReuse

WateReuse has one vision and one voice with the power of two organizations. The WateReuse Association and Research Foundation are internationally recognized as the foremost leaders in research, education and policy on water reuse.

Join Today